23 October 2020, 7pm
Duration: 2 hours
Price: €8,00 - €24,00
Venue: Vilnius Congress Hall (Vilniaus Str. 6-1, Vilnius)
Mezzo-soprano Alexander Kniazev
Orchestra Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra
Conductor Gintaras Rinkevičius


W. A. Mozart. Piano Concerto No.14 in E-flat major, K.449
C. M. von Weber. Overture from opera "Der Freischütz”
R. Schumann. Concerto for Cello in A minor, Op. 129


World-famous cellist Alexander Kniazev is one of the most outstanding classical musicians of our time, a true legend of this genre. Critics are showering him with praise: the artist is especially valued for his incredible musicality, original expression of thought and phenomenal performance technique (“BBC Music Magazine”), and the audience is fascinated by his extraordinary charisma, eloquent expression and exceptional energy. A. Kniazev has twice won the Tchaikovsky International Competition (in 1978 and 1990), and is the three-time laureate of the prestigious German Echo Klassik Prize for outstanding music recordings. He regularly performs in prestigious concert halls with all of the world's most famous symphony orchestras.

The cellist is also world-famous for his work in pedagogy. In 1995-2004  A. Kniazev taught at the Moscow State Conservatory, and many of his students later became winners of international competitions. The cello virtuoso is now organizing master classes around the world and is regularly invited to be a member of the Tchaikovsky International Competition Commission.

The talented musician actually has two diplomas of a professional performer – he is officially a cellist and an organist, so this evening in Vilnius he is ready to surprise even the greatest music connoisseurs: A. Kniazev will play two instruments on the stage of the Vilnius Congress Hall, piano and cello. In the first part of the concert, together with the Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra conducted by maestro Gintaras Rinkevičius, A. Kniazev will perform Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's (1756–1791) Piano Concerto No. 14. The second part of the concert will feature an overture from Carl Maria von Weber's (1786–1826) opera "Der Freischütz” and Robert Schumann's (1810–1856) Cello Concerto in A minor.


  • 50% off for youth up to 26 years of age. Valid for one ticket when purchased at the Vilnius Congress Hall Box Office upon providing a valid identity document (except for tickets to family concerts).
  • 20% off for senior and disabled people. Valid for two tickets when purchased at the Vilnius Congress Hall Box Office upon providing a valid identity document.
  • 20% off for groups. Valid for groups of 20 or more people. The organiser of the group gets two complimentary tickets to the concert attended by the group.

Discounts do not apply for standing-room and additional-seat tickets.

An extra charge of 1 euro by Tiketa UAB is excluded (discount not applicable).