18 April 2019, 7pm
Duration: 2 hours
Price: €6,00 - €34,00
Venue: Vilnius Congress Hall (Vilniaus Str. 6-1, Vilnius)
Piano Lukas Geniušas
Orchestra Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra
Conductor Gintaras Rinkevičius


Pyotr Tchaikovsky. Symphony No. 1 in G minor, Op. 13

Johannes Brahms. Piano Concerto No. 2 in B major, Op. 83


Born into a family of renowned musicians, Lukas Geniušas is one of today's most outstanding Lithuanian pianists. His great success at the 2015 Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow, where he won the Silver Medal, opened the doors to the most prestigious concert halls throughout the world. Barely 28 years old, Lukas Geniušas gives over 70 performances per season, his engagements spanning from Paris to Tokyo and from Montevideo to Toronto. "Brilliance and maturity, a prizewinner's talent and profound interpretation", wrote a reviewer of The Guardian about the pianist's recital in 2016. Lukas Geniušas has appeared with numerous prominent orchestras including Hamburg Symphony, Duisburg Symphony, BBC Scottish Symphony, St. Petersburg Philharmonic, Kremerata Baltica, Mariinsky Theatre Orchestra, to name but a few. The artist fascinates the audiences not only with his sensational technical ability, but also with an acute sense of style, intellectual eloquence and perfect balance between temperament, emotions and logic. The second part of this evening will feature Lukas Geniušas' performance of Piano Concerto No. 2 in B major, Op. 83, by the German Romantic composer Johannes Brahms.

The concert will start with one of the earliest works of the great Russian Romantic composer Pyotr Tchaikovsky (1840–1893), Symphony No. 1 in G minor, Op. 13, also known as Winter Dreams. Tchaikovsky wrote in his letters about the symphony, which later gained wide acclaim: "Although it is in many ways very immature, yet fundamentally it has more substance and is better than any of my other more mature works."

Tonight the Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra will be led by its artistic director and principal conductor, a Lithuanian National Prize winner, Maestro Gintaras Rinkevičius.