21 July 2020, 7pm
Duration: 2 hours
Price: €8,00 - €24,00
Venue: Vilnius Congress Hall (Vilniaus Str. 6-1, Vilnius)
Piano Lukas Geniušas
Orchestra Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra
Conductor Gintaras Rinkevičius


S. Rachmaninoff. Piano Concerto No. 3 in D Minor, op. 30
D. Shostakovich. Symphony No. 4

Born in the family of famous musicians, Lukas Geniušas has established himself as one of the most interesting and original artists of his generation in the world. The silver medal that he won in 2015 during the International Tchaikovsky Competition opened the door to the world's most prestigious concert halls. Performing from Paris to Tokyo, Montevideo to Toronto, at just 29, L. Geniušas has performed more than 70 concerts a season and began giving masterclasses last year. "The radiance and maturity, the winner's talent and deep interpretation” – this is how the influential British daily “The Guardian” summarized the pianist’s performance in 2016. L. Geniušas has already performed with Lyon National, NHK, Birmingham, Hamburg, Duisburg, BBC Scotland, St. Petersburg Philharmonic, St Mary's Theatre, Kremerata Baltica and other notable symphony orchestras. The artist fascinates the audiences not only with his impressive virtuosity, but also with stylishness, intellectual utterance, harmony of temperament, emotion and logic. This evening L. Geniušas will perform Sergei Rachmaninoff's (1873-1943) Piano Concerto No. 3. This is not only one of the composer's greatest and most complex pieces, but also Rachmaninoff's favourite among all four of his piano concertos.

In the second part of the concert, the Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra will continue performing the cycle of symphonies by Dmitri Shostakovich's (1906-1975), presenting to the audience the Symphony No. 4. This symphony became a kind of tool for resistance to power - the composer began to compose it no longer wanting to put up with the pressures of the Soviet Union. In 1936, after Shostakovich's mid-piece, at the behest of Joseph Stalin, the “Pravda” newspaper published an article about the composer's work entitled "Mud, not Music." Despite the fact that under conditions of totalitarian repression such an article could be understood as a threat to human life, Shostakovich completed his work as he had planned. Unfortunately, after the rehearsals began, orchestra leaders cancelled the premiere of the piece, which eventually only took place in 1961. At the end of his life, Shostakovich said: “The authorities have done everything to make me repent and redeem my sin. But I refused. I was young then, and physically strong. Instead of repentance, I composed my Symphony No. 4”.

On this evening the orchestra will be conducted by its founder, artistic director and chief conductor, National Prize winner Gintaras Rinkevičius.


  • 50% off for youth up to 26 years of age. Valid for one ticket when purchased at the Vilnius Congress Hall Box Office upon providing a valid identity document (except for tickets to family concerts).
  • 20% off for senior and disabled people. Valid for two tickets when purchased at the Vilnius Congress Hall Box Office upon providing a valid identity document.
  • 20% off for groups. Valid for groups of 20 or more people. The organiser of the group gets two complimentary tickets to the concert attended by the group.

Discounts do not apply for standing-room and additional-seat tickets.

An extra charge of 1 euro by Tiketa UAB is excluded (discount not applicable).