31 March 2023, 7pm
Duration: 2 hours
Price: €14,00 - €29,00
Venue: Palace of the Grand Dukes of Lithuania (Katedros Sq. 4, Vilnius)
Violin Kristupas Keller
Violin Dainius Puodžiukas
Violin Rūta Ručienė
Violin Svetlana Maigienė
Violin Dainius Narkevičius
Violin Jurgita Gaubytė
Viola Asta Jankauskienė
Cello Povilas Jacunskas
Cello Arnas Kmieliauskas
Oboe Ugnius Dičiūnas
Clarinet Erikas Šlakaitis
French horn Gediminas Abaris
Harp Vilija Grencevičiūtė
Orchestra Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra
Conductor Modestas Barkauskas

J. S. Bach. Violin Concerto in A minor, BWV 1041 (sol. Kristupas Keller)
J. S. Bach. Concerto for Violin and Oboe in C minor, BWV 1060R, Parts II and III (sol. Rūta Ručienė and Ugnius Dičiūnas)
M. Grandjany. Aria in Classical Style for Harp and String Orchestra (sol. Vilija Grencevičiūtė)
A. Vivaldi. Concerto for 2 Violins in A minor, RV 522 (sol. Dainius Narkevičius and Jurgita Gaubytė)
R. Strauss. Horn Concerto No. 1 in E-flat major, Op. 11, Part I (sol. Gediminas Abaris)
W. A. Mozart. Sinfonia concertante for violin and viola in E-flat major, Part III (sol. Svetlana Maigienė and Asta Jankauskienė)
C. M. von Weber. Clarinet Concerto No. 2 in E-flat major, Op.74 (sol. Erikas Šlakaitis)
G. Sollima. “Violoncelles, vibrez!“ for Two Cellos and String Orchestra (sol. Povilas Jacunskas and Arnas Kmieliauskas)
F. Kreisler. “Love’s Sorrow“ (sol. Dainius Puodžiukas)
H. Wieniawski. “Polonaise de concert” in D major, Op. 4 (sol. Dainius Puodžiukas)


This evening we shall invite you for an even closer acquaintance. The concert of orchestra artists is a rare opportunity to get to know the musicians of the Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra directly, to appreciate their talent and mastery, and the musicians of the orchestra have a great opportunity to personally introduce themselves to you, accompanied by a group of colleagues. At the concert, as many as thirteen soloists of the Lithuanian State Orchestra will present ten works of the classical repertoire. From the 17th century and the musical creations of the baroque music genius Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) to the contemporary Italian composer Giovanni Sollima (b. 1962) – during the concert of the orchestra's members, you will be able to hear rarely performed and intriguing symphonic works for as many as ten different instruments: violin, viola, cello, oboe, clarinet, French horns and harps accompanied by a symphony orchestra. The concertmasters of the Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra Kristupas Keller and Dainius Puodžiukas will begin and end the evening.

The Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra will be conducted by Modestas Barkauskas – one of the brightest musical personalities of the young generation. Since 2018 M. Barkauskas has been the artistic director and chief conductor with the St. Christopher Chamber Orchestra, and also collaborates significantly with many of the most important Lithuanian orchestras. Since 2013 he has been teaching at the Departments of Conducting, Singing and Choir Conducting of the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre. In 2016 M. Barkauskas was recognized as the best young artist and was awarded the "Golden Cross of the Stage"; in 2017 he won the 3rd prize and bronze baton at the prestigious international Grzegorz Fitelberg conducting competition in Katowice, and in 2016 – laureate's diploma at M. Glinka's band festival-competition in St. Petersburg.