26 June 2021, 7pm
Duration: 2 hours
Price: €8,00 - €24,00
Venue: Vilnius Congress Hall (Vilniaus Str. 6-1, Vilnius)
Cello David Geringas
Orchestra Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra
Conductor David Geringas


R. Schubert. Sonata in A minor for arpeggione and piano, D. 821 (arr. for cello and string orchestra)
W. A. Mozart. Symphony No. 25 in G minor, K. 183
L. van Beethoven. Symphony No. 6 in F major, op. 68 (“Pastorale“)


Lithuanian-born cello virtuoso David Geringas belongs to the world’s classical music elite of our days. The artist’s incredibly wide repertoire, spanning from early Baroque to contemporary music, highlights his extraordinary curiosity, uniquely high level of technical mastery and intrinsic flexibility. D. Geringas’ intellectual precision, stylistic versatility, intuitive sense of melody and tones brought him special respect and recognition around the world. After winning Gold Medal at the international Tchaikovsky Competition in 1970, the 24-year-old cellist, most loved student of the legendary cellist Mstislav Rostropovich, opened the doors of the world's most famous concert halls. Since 2000 D. Geringas has also been performing more and more frequently as a conductor.

Tonight, D. Geringas together with the Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra will perform as many as three works on the stage, in two different roles: he will play cello as a soloist in Franz Schubert's (1797–1828) Sonata in A minor, and will later also stand on the conductor's rostrum – the Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra conducted by D. Gering will perform Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's (1756–1791) Symphony no. 25 in G minor and Ludwig van Beethoven's Symphony No.  6 in F major.

F. Schubert's Sonata for Arpeggione and Piano is the only famous work written for this already extinct instrument. Arpeggione was a string instrument of the 19th century, with the characteristics of a guitar and a cello – it was played virtuosically by F. Schubert's good friend Vincenz Schuster, to whom this sonata was dedicated. When the instrument did not survive the test of time, the sonata still remained one of the most favourite works among string players. Sonata for Arpeggione and Piano, which F. Schubert wrote while already ill, is very intimate: its gentle character is deeply touched by the perceptible fragility.

The concert will also include the 25th Symphony, written by W. A. ​​Mozart when he was only 17. It is often perceived as composer's first "tragic" symphony, which elevated him from Wunderkind to the glorious status of a true artist. The symphony is created in the so-called “storm and drive” style (Sturm und Drang): the score enthusiastically expresses dramatic emotions, uses sudden changes in tempo, dynamics and musical effects that convey deep excitement.

The second part of the concert will feature Ludwig van Beethoven's “Pastorale” Symphony, first presented to the public in 1808 in Vienna. L. van Beethoven loved nature, so he often left Vienna to spend a lot of time walking and quietly devoting himself to work while being surrounded by its embrace. The composer's Symphony No. 6 is one of the few programmatic works by L. van Beethoven, depicting the everyday life of the countryside and natural scenes. Still, the composer wrote that this music of his is "more an expression of feeling than a painting", – this  is further confirmed by the titles of the parts of the symphony.


  • 50% off for youth up to 26 years of age. Valid for one ticket when purchased at the Vilnius Congress Hall Box Office upon providing a valid identity document (except for tickets to family concerts).
  • 20% off for senior and disabled people. Valid for two tickets when purchased at the Vilnius Congress Hall Box Office upon providing a valid identity document.
  • 20% off for groups. Valid for groups of 20 or more people. The organiser of the group gets two complimentary tickets to the concert attended by the group.

Discounts do not apply for standing-room and additional-seat tickets.

An extra charge of 1 euro by Tiketa UAB is excluded (discount not applicable).