23 March 2022, 7pm
Duration: 2 hours
Price: €9,00 - €24,00
Venue: Lietuvos nacionalinė filharmonija


P. Tchaikovsky. Violin Concerto in D major, op. 35
A. Bruckner. Symphony No. 7 in E major


Violinist Moné Hattori, who has won five international competitions, is called the "jewel of Japan" and is undoubtedly one of the best violinists of her generation. At just 22, Hattori has been praised by critics for "the highest level of mastery, sensuality, musicality and passion" ("Berner Zeitung"), and is definitely on the list of the world's best violinists.

M. Hattori was born in Tokyo, into a family of musicians. Three generations on her father’s side were successful composers, and her mother became Moné’s first violin teacher. Aged ten, she became the youngest ever winner of the 11th International Competition for Young Violinists in Honour of Karol Lipinski & Henryk Wieniawski, Poland (2009), also taking First Prize at the All Japan Art Association Competition that same year. She went on to win the Grand Prix and various special prizes at the 9th International Competition “Young Virtuosos”, Bulgaria (2013), and the 7th Novosibirsk International Violin Competition (Senior Division), Russia (2013), in which she won the “17 years and over” category at the age of just 13. Most recently, M. Hattori won the Grand Prix at the inaugural International Boris Goldstein Violin Competition in Bern, Switzerland (2015).

The violinist regularly performs with all largest Japanese symphony orchestras (Japanese Philharmonic, Osaka Philharmonic, Tokyo Philharmonic, NHK, etc.), as well as Novosibirsk, German Symphony, Franz Liszt Chamber and other orchestras. Moné Hattori plays a violin by Pietro Guarneri of Venice (1743).

During the concert, M. Hattori will play one of the most famous and complex works for the instrument – Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35 by Pyotr Tchaikovsky (1840–1893). P. Tchaikovsky wrote the concerto while resting in a small Swiss resort of Clarence, on the shores of Lake Geneva. Overcome by great inspiration, the composer created concerto’s sketch in just 11 days, and in a couple more weeks the score was entirely completed.

In the second part of the concert, the Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra conducted by maestro Gintaras Rinkevičius, will continue the cycle of symphonies by Anton Bruckner (1824–1896) and perform the composer's Symphony No. 7. This symphony became fateful for A. Bruckner: its second premiere in Munich in 1885 turned into composer’s triumph, and the time of his worldwide fame had begun. The symphony is a grand epic that speaks about the confusion and experiences of human feelings that are very rich, complex and diverse. In this masterfully written work, the musical artistic images are especially emotional, full of the affirmation of life. It is no surprise that the symphony later became one of A. Bruckner's most popular works.